Update to promotions and regrading


September 16th, 2020

Further to their message of Thursday 30 July, Deputy Vice-Chancellor Professor Andy Long and Director of HR Jaspal Kaur write about the latest arrangements for promotions and regrading for the 2020/21 academic year.

Academic Promotions

I am pleased to confirm that the promotions round for 2020/21 will take place in early 2021. Communication to staff will be sent in February 2021 with confirmation of all key dates for the revised timescales:

Level 7 applications
• Closing date for Level 7 applications: 4.00 pm on Wednesday 21 April 2021
• Level 7 Promotion Committee 1st meeting: Wednesday 9 June 2021
• Level 7 Promotion Committee 2nd meeting: Wednesday 29 September 2021
• Promotions awarded will take effect from January 2022

Levels 4, 5 and 6 applications
• Closing date for Levels 4, 5 and 6 applications: 4.00 pm Wednesday 23 June 2021
• Level 6 Promotion Committee: Wednesday 22 September 2021
• Levels 4 and 5 Promotions Committees – will take place in September 2021 (exact date to be arranged by Faculty)
• Promotions awarded will take effect from January 2022

This delay has been agreed by UEB after consultation with stakeholders, taking into account the disproportionate impact of Covid-19 on staff, and the value of allowing additional time for staff to prepare promotions applications. The promotions pro-forma will also provide an opportunity for all staff to detail the impact of Covid-19 on the evidence that they are able to use to demonstrate how they have met the promotions criteria.

Further information will be provided on timescales for Faculty/School processes in due course.

Re-grading
Re-grading applications will be able to be considered from February 2021 onwards. The schedule for the year will be:

Closing date for applications: Friday 5 February 2021
Re-grading Panels: Tuesday 23, Wednesday 24, Thursday 25 and Friday 26 February 2021
Hay Panel: Thursday 11 March 2021
Re-grading effective from: Thursday 1 April 2021

Closing date for applications: Friday 14 May 2021
Re-grading Panels: Tuesday 8, Wednesday 9, Thursday 10 and Friday 11 June 2021
Hay Panel: Thursday 24 June 2021
Re-grading effective from: Sunday 1 August 2021

Regards

Andy Long, Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor

Jaspal Kaur, Director of Human Resources

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Other

Call for Impact Acceleration Account (IAA) funding

The university has opened a call for Impact Acceleration Account (IAA) funding from the BBSRC IAA. […]

“Let’s be clear about EDI” webinar series for 2021

The Leadership and Management Academy continue to produce the “Let’s be clear about EDI” webinar series […]