Tradition of Critique — lecture series (semester two programme)

A series of lectures offered to postgraduates as part of the Researcher Development Programme.

Contemporary theorists write against the background of an intellectual tradition of critique which characterised the European Enlightenment. This course offers ten introductory lectures to a number of thinkers who have engaged with the question of critique, anticipating it, undercutting its premises, or otherwise considering its limits.

These sessions build on the first series of Tradition of Critique lectures (held in semester one of academic year 2017/18) but don’t require familiarity with the thinkers covered there: rather we offer a solid introduction to issues that sit in the background to critical concerns of much contemporary research in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

This series of lectures takes place on Mondays throughout 2017/2018’s semester two, at A48 Sir Clive Granger Building. Attendees should register for the series at the first lecture. Those who attend seven or more sessions will receive a certificate of attendance.

  • Monday 29 January, 6-8pm:  Spinoza and Spinozism
  • Monday 5 February, 6-8pm: Confucian Aesthetics
  • Monday 12 February, 6-8pm: Jacques Lacan
  • Monday 19 February, 6-8pm: Michel Foucault
  • Monday 26 February, 6-8pm: Franz Fanon
  • Monday 5 March, 6-8pm: Gilles Deleuze and Féliz Guattari
  • Monday 12 March, 6-8pm: Alain Badiou
  • Monday 19 March, 6-8pm: Giorgio Agamben
  • Monday 26 March: No lectures
  • Monday 2 April: No lectures
  • Monday 9 April: No lectures
  • Monday 16 April: No lectures
  • Monday 23 April, 6-8pm: Gayatri Spivak
  • Monday 30 April, 6-8pm: Isabelle Stengers

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Upcoming Events

Nottingham Engaged 2022

2 February 2022