Tri-Campus Postgraduate Prize Awards

May 23rd, 2017

The Tri-Campus Postgraduate Prize Awards 2017 took place on Wednesday 17 May. The awards celebrate the work and achievements of postgraduate students across our three international campuses who are excelling in their respective fields.

The event was hosted by the Graduate School at each campus and coordinated via video link. The UK awards were presented by Professor Ed Wilding, Associate Pro-Vice-Chancellor for the Graduate School and Research Career Development Below is some detail about each of the awards that were presented along with a list of the winners for each award.

Heymann Research Award 

Founded in 1892 by Henry Haymann, preference is given to students in the Faculty of Arts but may be awarded to a student in another faculty if they demonstrate sufficient merit in Arts.

The winner:

King-Ho Leung, Theology & Religious Studies

Andrew Hendry Postgraduate-Award

Founded in 1968 in memory of Andrew Hendry, Bursar of the University 1948-66, this award is open to all students in all Faculties.

The winners:

Anirban Banerjee, Medicine
Wei Gong, Architecture & Built Environment
Ewa Kruszewski, Law
Jong Bong Lee, Pharmacy
Hannah-Rose Murray, American & Canadian Studies
Harriet Parnell, Mechanical, Materials & Manufacturing Engineering
Christopher Sampson, Medicine – Rehabilitation & Ageing
Theocharis Tsoleridis, Life Sciences

Dean Moore Award

Founded in 1949 under the will of Florence Moore, this award is open to students who are resident in the East Midlands, preferably the City of Nottingham.

The winners:

Sarah Brand, Nottingham University Business School
Chris Bridge, Engineering – Energy & Sustainability
Ziwei Chen, Fluids & Thermal Engineering
Leah Jayes, Epidemiology & Public Health
Emma Nielsen, Psychology
Robert Workman, Veterinary Medicine & Sciences

Tomlin Award

Founded in 1951 under the will of John Hewitt Tomlin, this award is open to students resident in the East Midlands, especially Lincoln.

The winner:

Katie Pepper, Chemistry

Postgraduate Teaching Assistant Award

This award recognises and celebrates examples of innovative teaching and support learning.

The winners:

Dan Fallows, Electrical & Electronic Engineering
Rosanna Kirkwood, Veterinary Medicine & Science

Highly commended:

Margareta Clarke, Psychology
Genovefa Kefalidou, Human Factors Research Group
Christina Ralph-Nearman, Psychology

Congratulations to all of the above winners who have demonstrated themselves an asset to the University and to their respective fields.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply


Consultative Committee for Support Staff: call for agenda items

The next meeting of the Consultative Committee for Support Staff is on Monday 1 July 2024; please […]

Join us on stage at Graduation – volunteers needed for platform party

Colleagues from across the university are invited to play a special part in this summer’s graduation […]