Shortlist announced for the Knowledge Exchange and Impact Awards

October 3rd, 2018

The Knowledge Exchange and Impact Awards celebrate the contribution of our University’s research to society and the economy.

Over 80 entries were received in nine award categories this year. The shortlist has been selected by judging panels across the University.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony at the East Midlands Conference Centre on Thursday 22 November.

Here’s the shortlist in full:

Expert commentator of the year

  • Dr Afzal Ashraf, School of Politics and International Relations
  • Dr Ansgar Koene, School of Computer Science
  • Dr Paul Smith, School of Cultures, Languages and Area Studies

Research story of the year

  • Nottingham Dollies, Professors Kevin Sinclair, David Gardner and Sandra Corr
  • Slavery from Space, Dr Doreen Boyd
  • #SnailLove, Dr Angus Davison

Policy impact award

  • Professor Antoni Kapcia, School of Cultures, Languages and Area Studies
  • Dr Ansgar Koene, School of Computer Science
  • Dr Fernando Casal Bertoa, School of Politics and International Relations

Faculty of Arts award

  • Bringing Vikings back to the East Midlands – Professor Judith Jesch, Dr Roderick Dale
  • Linguistic tools to improve compliance with regulatory requirements – Dr Kathy Conklin, Dr Richard Hyde, Dr Fabio Parente, Dr Kay Snowley
  • The curator of Rebellion at Nottingham Castle – Dr Richard A Gaunt

Faculty of Engineering award

  • GeoSHM – Structural health monitoring of bridges – Dr Xiaolin Meng, Paul Bhatia, Dr John S. Owen, Dr Panagiotis Psimoulis, Dr Yilin Xie, Dr Dinh Tung Nguyen
  • Project SCENe – Sustainable Community Energy Networks – Dr Lewis Cameron, Professor Mark Gillott, Dr Lucelia Rodrigues, Dr Rob Shipman, Claire Hardwidge
  • Remote keyhole surgery for jet engines – Professor Dragos Axinte

Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences award

  • Reducing rates of clinically important errors in medicines management – Professor Tony Avery, Dr Sarah Rodgers, Professor Sarah Armstrong, Dr Ndeshi Salema, Christina Sheehan, Dr Brian Bell, Anthony Chuter, Glen Swanwick, James Barrett
  • Enabling personalisation of care in breast cancer – Professor Emad Rakha, Professor Ian Ellis
  • The Scarred Liver project – Dr Neil Guha, Professor Guru Aithal, Dr Emilie Wilkes, Dr Martin James, Professor Steve Ryder, Dr Dave Harman, Dr Rebecca Harris, Dr Jane Chalmers, Dr Joanna Morling, Dr Tim Card

Faculty of Science award

  • Bacteria-resistant plastics – Professor Morgan Alexander, Emeritus Professor Martyn Davies, Professor Paul Williams, Professor Derek Irvine
  • Breeding better tomatoes with longer shelf life – Professor Graham B. Seymour, Dr Natalie Chapman
  • Novel compounds to reduce campylobacter infection in animal farming – Professor Panos Soultanas, Dr Jafar Mahdavi

Faculty of Social Sciences award

  • Antislavery data: Measuring and mapping to end global slavery – Professor Kevin Bales, Professor Bernard Silverman, Professor Todd Landman, Dr Doreen Boyd, Dr James Goulding, Dr Alex Trautims, Minh Dang, Andrea Nicholson, Dr Austin ChoiFitzpatrick
  • Internationalisation of Higher Education in Zimbabwe – Dr Juliet Thondhlana, Dr Evelyn Garwe, Professor Simon McGrath
  • The Nottingham slave trade legacies initiative – Dr Susanne Seymour

There will also be a special Vice Chancellor’s award announced on the night for research impact over the course of an individual’s career.

Congratulations to all nominees.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply


New mark sheets for reassessment period – improved and ready for use

The university will be introducing new mark sheets for the upcoming reassessment period. Our Education Administration […]

Appraisal Development Conversations (ADC) training for staff

The university has developed an additional training resource to support Appraisal Development Conversations (ADCs) for appraisers […]