Estates and Hospitality staff enjoy team focus day

August 1st, 2019

Estates and Hospitality colleagues from across the University took part in a team focus meeting on Thursday 25 July.

The day included a variety of wellbeing and sport activities, as well as a barbecue, fairground attractions and food stalls.

Director of Estates & Facilities, Linda Goodacre, said ‘With around 1000 staff across Estates and Hospitality it’s not easy to get everyone together, but we were delighted to see so many of our hardworking and committed staff. Whilst we know how important the quality of our campus is, the staff really valued the feedback they received from the Deputy Vice Chancellor and the Director of Estates and Facilities. Our inaugural awards were really well received by the staff and it was great to celebrate those who’ve done so well in the past year’.

The full list of winners can be seen below:

Outstanding Leader


  • Chris Brown – Head Chef, Lenton & Wortley Hall

Highly Commended

  • Michael Wroblewski – Team Leader, Grounds Auxiliary

E&H Outstanding Colleague


  • Viet Cuong Hoang – Catering Assistant, Lenton & Wortley Hall

Highly Commended

  • Wendy Johnson – Catering Assistant, Medical School QMC
  • Ali Morgan – Senior Security Officer

E&H Outstanding Community Champion


  • The Estates Administration Team: Jos Wallace, Helen Cooper, Kim Hale, and Steph Bowskill

Highly Commended

  • Julie Murphy – Team Leader, Retail Catering
  • Anne Bowbanks – Catering Assistant, Retail Catering

E&H Customer Service Champion


  • Andrew Miller – Security Officer

Highly Commended

  • David Humphreys – Hall Porter, Florence Boot Hall
  • Matthew Gyles – Team Leader, Grounds Team
  • Ousman Rashid – Catering Team Leader, Hugh Stewart Hall

E&H Sustainability Champion


  • Ian Chetwynd – Groundsworker

Highly Commended

  • Sebastian Rozanski – Building Attendant, KMC
  • Bob Crossley – Catering Operations Manager

E&H Outstanding Team


  • The University Farm Team: Nigel Armstrong, Lucy Shaw, Krzysztof Sek, Przemyslaw Czajka, Joseph Barton, John-Joseph Armstrong

Highly Commended

  • The Auxiliary Grounds Team: Michael Wroblewski, Stephen Hartshorne, Bob Fletcher, Alex Martindale and Anthony Kinton
  • The Health Centre Cleaners Team: Steven Walton, Denise Goode, Nigel Bosworth-Brown, Amy Wilson, Julett Walker, Donna Wilson, Erizal Lugman, and Mohamed Amesnaou Alouat
  • The Lower Cripps Team: Nicki Kiernan, Susan Roberts, Brian Launders, Tracy Geary, Nicola Wood, Teresa Adcock, Lorraine Watt, Julie Blatherwick, Penelope Rose, Christiana Okhomina, Ciptoaji Ciptoaji and Sharon Kirk

E&H Outstanding Collaborative Individual/Team


  • The Sustainability & Catering Teams for the #WasteNott Campaign: Gavin Scott, Nicola Penn, Bob Crossley, Serena Brown, Emma Kemp, Hema Jankee

Highly Commended

  • The Willoughby Hall Team: Richard Beck, Ben Morrison, Ben Mason, Jon Hendren, Ery Sunarsih, Elaine Moon, Tarek Zakaria, Susan Brown, Emma Gazeley, Dorcas Szuchnicka, Andrea Holmes, Beata Oborska, Jeanette Musson, Paula Draper, Philip Clarke, Gary Hopkinson and Vila Pecke

Special Award for Community Champion

  • Steve Wright – Chauffeur, Transport & Logistics

Tags: , ,

One Comment

August 6th, 2019 at 12:50 pm

Stephanie Holmes

It is so nice to see familiar faces being rewarded for doing such fantastic jobs, thank you for sharing the photos 🙂

Thanks E&H Team for keeping our campuses looking beautiful, clean, tidy (and everything else inbetween!) and welcoming us with a smile in the mornings 🙂

Leave a Reply


PVC EDI blog: It’s nice to be important, but more important to be nice

In her latest blog, the university’s Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Equality, Diversity, Inclusion and People Professor Katherine Linehan […]

Launch of the Digital Accessibility Community of Practice

Join the launch of the new Digital Accessibility Community of Practice on Wednesday 13 March 2024 […]