£45m for the next generation of researcher leaders

February 4th, 2019

The University has won new funding for five Centres of Doctoral Training (CDTs) that will train the brightest postgraduate researchers to tackle pressing global challenges, and keep the UK at the cutting edge of scientific research.

The centres are funded by the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC), with partners in industry adding to the overall investment. Two of the CDTs have received funding from Science Foundation Ireland.

The University is also involved in a further three new centres led by other institutions, enabling Nottingham’s expertise to be shared with more than 450 students who will have access to an outstanding research environment and unrivalled opportunities.

Professor Dame Jessica Corner, Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Research and Knowledge Exchange, said: “This is an outstanding result for Nottingham and once again testament to the quality of our research. The CDTs announced today will be at the forefront of helping the UK secure a skills-rich, low-carbon economy.”

The newest CDT is in Sustainable Hydrogen, led by Professor Gavin Walker of the Faculty of Engineering.

The others are:

Sustainable Chemistry: Atoms-2-Products, led by Professor Pete Licence, School of Chemistry

Transformative Pharmaceutical Technologies, led by Dr Snow Stolnik, School of Pharmacy

Creating Our Lives in Data, led by Professor Steve Benford, School of Computer Science.

Resilient Decarbonised Fuel Energy Systems, led by Professor Robin Irons, Faculty of Engineering.

The announcement, made by Universities and Science Minister Chris Skidmore, takes Nottingham’s portfolio of cohort-based doctoral training programmes to 43 – thought to be the largest in the country.

Professor Gavin Walker: delivering the next generation of hydrogen research leaders.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply


New cost-of-living report launched by Students’ Union

The Students’ Union has launched a new report into the impact of the cost-of-living crisis on […]

Papin Prize shortlist announced – the UK’s only awards for technicians in academia

The shortlist has been announced for the UK’s only award ceremony dedicated to celebrating technical excellence […]